MLK Monument Award Winner

Published on February 16, 2023

Annejeanette Washington-Collins MLK Award Winner

Martin Luther King, Jr. Committee Selects Annejeanette Washington-Collins as MLK Monument Award Winner

The Coral Springs Martin Luther King, Jr. (MLK) Committee voted to award the 2023 MLK Monument Award to local educator Annejeanette Washington-Collins for her valuable service and contributions to the Coral Springs community.

A resident of Coral Springs for 14 years, Washington-Collins works at Ramblewood Middle School as an American History Teacher. In addition, she is a STEM advocate, educator, and college professor. Recently having her work noticed at the state level, Washington-Collins was named the Dr. Theron Trimble Florida Social Studies Teacher of the Year for Middle School by the Florida Council for the Social Studies. The award recognized exceptional and innovative teachers for creating meaningful lessons for their students and advocating for social studies education.

The MLK Monument Award honors local individuals or organizations who embody the ideals of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.

“Annejeanette truly cares about her students and makes sure they are represented in various organizations in the community, both African American and Caribbean American.” said Joshua Simmons, Coral Springs Commissioner and MLK Committee Liaison. “She exemplifies the best qualities of a hardworking community leader.”

Washington-Collins was honored at a ceremony on Wednesday, February 15 held at the Coral Springs MLK Monument. The monument is located in front of the Northwest Regional Library at 3151 N University Drive in Coral Springs. City officials, along with members of the Coral Springs MLK Committee, presented her with her award.

Washington-Collins was selected from a list of four nominees. Other nominees included Eagles Haven, Coral Springs Charter School, and Dr. Mark Grendal.

Tagged as: